Weaverville Chamber of Commerce Board Meeting Minutes Draft February 15, 2024 TCOE Conference Room 6pm-8pm

Board Attendance: Teckla Johnson, Jean Lam, Chriss Williams, Karlyne Zaitz, Lythia Sanchez, Monica Landon, Brady McKay, Amber Carman

Guests: Kate McVeigh (Moon House), Trish Harris (My Revival), Jake (Trinity County Brewery), Pat Zugg (Trinity County Visitors Center), Ryan Crockett (Up North) Kay Wheeler (Kay's Book Nook), Devon Adrian (Diggins & Soroptimist), Cala Dece Traub (Mountain Goat Kids), Julia Aslan, Kerry Hurley (Ascend Wilderness Experience)

I. Call To Order & Housekeeping (Teckla): 6:01pm

II. Welcome

- A. Guests
- B. Announcements
 - 1. Devon says the Soroptimist Candidate Night is online
- 2. Mountain Goat Kids will do a Youth Art Walk on the first Saturday of each month 11am-1pm. Suggested donation.

III. Reports

- A. Treasury (Jean): Jean discusses the Treasurer's Report. The current available balance \$4,849.45. Discussion about Fireworks carryover funds.
- B. Secretary's Report (Chriss): Monica motions to approve. Jean seconds. Motion carries unanimously.

IV. New Business

A. Gold Passport/Coupon (Teckla): Ingra Smith sent Chamber an email that the LaGrange Classic and SingleTrack Summit is working on a coupon book called "Gold Passport" and would like the Chamber to support the coupon book and solicit businesses. Teckla asks what level of engagement The Chamber would like to do. April 1st is the deadline. Group discussion. Teckla suggests Chamber forms a committee for the event.

B. Planning

1. Yearly activities (Teckla): Board members review the traditional Chamber sponsored events and ask for volunteers. Teckla hangs up signup sheets for each event: Mountain Magic Holidays, 4th of July Fireworks, Halloween, Membership Committee, Marketing, Committee, Fundraising, Mixer, Public Art. Members sign-up for individual event committees.

V. Old Business

- A. Pedestrian Safety Letter (Teckla): Letter in Agenda.
- B. Block Captains
- **VI. Elections (**Jean): Board & Officer Nominations: Amy Brookins (Board), Devon Adrian (Board), Trish Harris (President), Jean Lam (Treasurer), Kay Wheeler (Sergeant of Arms), Julia Aslan (Secretary/VP), Ryan Crockett (Secretary), Kerry Hurley (VP), Lythia Sanchez (Sargent at Arms/Board), Jean Lam (Board). Chriss Williams, Amber Carmen and Brady McKay resign as current Board members. Karlyne Zaitz and Teckla Johnson withdrew from seeking new terms.

BOARD elected is as follows:

1 year terms

Kerry
Devon
Amy
Megan Scalzo (current)
Monica Landon (current)

2 year terms

Trish
Jean
Kayley
Ryan
Lythia
Julia

Officer Nominations:

President: **Trish Harris**

Vice President: Kerry Hurley/ Julia Aslan

Treasurer: Jean Lam

Secretary: Ryan Crockett/ Julia Aslan

Sargent of Arms: Lythia Sanchez/ Kayley Wheeler

The elected officers are as follows: President- Trish Harris, Vice President- Kerry Hurley, Treasurer- Jean Lam, Secretary- Ryan Crockett, Sargent of Arms- Kayley Wheeler.

VII. Committee Report: Tabled for Next Meeting followed by words from new President **(Trish)**: A special meeting will be held for WCOC Board and Members on Thursday February 22 to go over a new vision, mission statement, committees and a strategic plan, 6pm-8pm TCOE (tentatively)

VIII. Adjournment: 8:36pm

Submitted by: Chriss Williams